View Mobile Site
  • Bookmark and Share


Photo Gallery

Effingham County Chamber of Commerce recognizes members

POSTED: June 8, 2018 10:19 a.m.
Mark Lastinger/staff/

Abby Smith receives a hug after being named the Beacon Award winner Thursday night.

View Larger

SPRINGFIELD -- The Effingham County Chamber of Commerce conducted its annual Membership Recognition Banquet on Thursday at St. Boniface Catholic Church's banquet hall.

Samuel Zemurray received the chamber's highest honor, the John Adams Treutlen Award, in abtentia because of an illness. The Treutlen Award, presented by former winners Gussie Nease and William Ratchford, goes to an outstanding citizen for exemplary service to the Effingham community.

Abby Smith received the Beacon Award, given to the chamber ambassador who has earned the most ambassador points by going over and above in service to chamber members.

That Dress was named the Small Business of the Year and Edwards Interiors received Georgia Manufacturers of the Year recognition.

The Hall of Fame Award, started in 2017, was bestowed upon Lamar Allen. It goes to an outstanding member who has had a lasting, positive impact on commerce in Effingham County.

The luau-themed event also featured a keynote address by Georgia Power's Truitt Eavenson.

In addition, Chamber President Ed Vance passed the gavel to President-elect Brian Dickey.

See the June 13 edition of the Effingham Herald for more details.


  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.
  • There are no articles found.

© Copyright 2018 Effingham Herald All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...