By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FBI honors Col. Hitchens
Placeholder Image

The Georgia Chapter of the FBI National Academy Associates has awarded Col. William “Bill” Hitchens of the Georgia Department of Public Safety/Georgia State Patrol its member of the year award at its 65th Anniversary training conference held June 28 in Young Harris. Each year the Georgia Chapter presents the award to a deserving graduate of the FBI National Academy.

The award was presented by Chapter President Eddie Henderson (Chief of Law Enforcement, Ga. Department of Natural Resources), First Vice President Ron Freeman (Captain, Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office) and Secretary Marty Zon (Special Agent in Charge, Georgia Bureau of Investigations-retired). The winner is selected annually by their peers who include the leaders of Georgia’s law enforcement community from state, county and local agencies.

Freeman stated: “It was a great honor to present the award to Col. Hitchens. The award recognizes the FBI National Academy’s motto of courage, knowledge and integrity is embraced and reflected in the leadership of Col. Hitchens.  Being recognized by the caliber of our membership is a certainly an accomplishment, even in the stellar career of Col. Hitchens. It also recognizes not only his leadership, accomplishments and support of the Georgia FBI National Academy Associates, but also those of the employees of the Georgia Department of Public Safety.”

Col. Hitchens is a graduate of the 130th session of the FBI National Academy and served as the president of the Georgia chapter in 1993. The Georgia Department of Public Safety has 12 active graduates in its ranks. Lt. Col. Mark McDonough Session 235, Maj. Russell Powell Session 232, Capt. Grady Sanford Session 242, Capt. Bill Bryant Session 226, Motor Carrier Compliance Capt. Johnny Jones Session 233, Lt. Bill Hitchens Jr. Session 229, Lt. Nikki Renfroe Session 236, Lt. Kermit Stokes Session 239, Lt. Donnie Smith Session 240, Lt. Paul Cosper Session 243 and Lt. Buddy Johnson Session 244.