By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cities see fees, dates for races
Proposed State Senate districts.

Qualifying dates and fees have been set for the upcoming municipal elections in all three Effingham County cities.

Qualifying in all three cities for the Nov. 8 elections will begin Aug. 29 at 8:30 a.m. and will end Sept. 2 at 4:30 p.m.

Seats up for election include Mayor Michael Garvin’s post and two aldermen positions, currently held by Les Peavy and Dr. Brenda Lovett.

The qualifying fee for the mayor’s post is $36 and the fee to qualify for either aldermen’s post is $18.

Qualifying fee for Rincon City Council is set at $54. Rincon City Council seats up for election are those held by Ken Baxley, Reese Browher and Paul Wendelken. Baxley, who opted not to run for re-election in 2009, was appointed to fill the seat vacated when Ann Daniel resigned.

Springfield has set its qualifying fee at $25.

Three of six Springfield City Council seats are up for election this year, those held by Troy Allen, Butch Kieffer and Gary Weitman. Weitman, who previously had served on city council, was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Max Neidlinger when Neidlinger stepped down from his post earlier this year.

In Rincon and Springfield, the top three vote-getters are elected to council, while Guyton’s council members are selected by post. Pevey was unopposed four years ago and Lovett handily beat two challengers.

Voters in the three cities wishing to cast ballots in the municipal elections must be registered by Oct. 11.