By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election results
Placeholder Image

County commission

District 3

Steve Mason 1,153

Lillie Smart Brown    863

District 5

Phil Kieffer    2,184

Delmons White    701

Board of Education

District 1

Eddie Tomberlin    1,282

Nina Dasher    843

District 4

James Dasher    656

Mose Mock    1,880

Georgia General Assembly

House of Representatives

District 157 (Effingham County totals)

Jon Burns   3,409

Elizabeth Johnson   1,052

District 159 (Effingham County totals)

Ann Purcell   6,978

Tawana Garrett   1,242

U.S. House of Representatives, District 12 (Effingham County totals)

John Barrow    3,886 

Ray McKinney    8,863

Statewide offices (Effingham County totals)

U.S. Senate

Johnny Isakson    9,854

Michael Thurmond    2,369

Chuck Donovan   369


Nathan Deal    9,098

Roy Barnes    2,888 

John Monds    679 

Lieutenant Governor

Casey Cagle   9,424

Carol Porter    2,789 

Dan Barber    455

Eddie Tomberlin held off a challenge from Nina Dasher to retain his District 1 school board, and Mose Mock was swept into office with an overwhelming victory over District 4 incumbent James Dasher.

In the two contested county commission races, Phil Kieffer took the District 5 seat, outpolling Delmons White 3 to 1, and Steve Mason beat Lillie Brown for the open District 3 post.

Effingham voters also approved the renewal of the special purpose local option sales tax and the E-SPLOST.

Incumbents Jon Burns and Ann Purcell also handily won re-election to the state House of Representatives.

Effingham voted heavily in favor of Ray McKinney for the U.S. House District 12 seat, but the Effingham County High School alum fell short in his bid to unseat incumbent John Barrow.

Turnout was more than 45 percent for the off-year election. 

For more, see Friday’s edition of the Effingham Herald.