By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Four sign up to run for chief magistrate position
Placeholder Image

Qualifying in Effingham County’s non-partisan races closed with a flourish before the Friday noon deadline.

There are now four candidates for the chief magistrate position as Scott A. Lewis and Stan Mann qualified to run.

Solomon Smith and Scott Hinson qualified earlier in the week.

Preston Exley, the current chief magistrate, is retiring.

There are three candidates for the probate judge seat that has been vacated — Beth Rahn Mosley, Rick Rafter and Judy C. Suhor. Longtime probate judge Frances Seckinger retired this spring.

Of the three school board seats up for election, only one is contested. Incumbent Troy Alford will face challenger Talbert Edenfield for the District 2 seat. Lamar Allen, the District 3 board member, will not face opposition in his re-election bid.

Vickie Decker will be unopposed in her bid for the District 5 seat, which is being relinquished by current board chairperson Vera Jones. Jones is moving out of the district but is remaining in the county and is Decker’s sister.

Wendell Arnsdorff faces no opposition as supervisor for the Ogeechee River Soil and Water Conservation District.

Non-partisan races will be decided during the general election on Nov. 4.