By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Isaskson to host Military Academy Day
Placeholder Image

ATLANTA—U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., in coordination with the Georgia delegation, announced the annual statewide Military Academy Day event will take place on May 7.  The event will be held at Dobbins Air Reserve Base in Atlanta from 10-11:30 a.m.  The event will help familiarize students with the application and nomination process for applying to the nation’s five service academies.

Representatives from all five academies, including the Admissions Directors from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Naval Academy as well as the deputy director of admissions for the U.S. Air Force Academy and the deputy director of the Department of Defense Medical Examination Review Board, also will be in attendance to explain their requirements and expectations and to answer questions.

The event is open to students in grades eight through 12.

Along with Isakson, U.S. Reps. Phil Gingrey, R-Marietta, Hank Johnson, D-Lithonia, Tom Price, R-Roswell, and Rob Woodall, R-Lawrenceville, are scheduled to participate in the event.

Due to Dobbins’ security restrictions, all attendees must make reservations and must present photo identification at the Atlanta Road checkpoint for admittance.

“This event is an excellent opportunity for Georgia’s youth to learn more about attending one of our nation’s prestigious military academies,” said Isakson. “I encourage families to take advantage of this unique opportunity and register early. This is a popular event and there are a limited number of reservations available.”

All individuals who are interested in attending must make a reservation by registering online at and may contact Nancy Brooks, Isakson’s Academy Director, at (770) 661-0999 with any questions.

All individuals who wish to attend must provide their phone number, date of birth, driver’s license number and vehicle tag number by the registration deadline on April 29 at 5 p.m.