By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sen. Hill honored as a Chamber legislator of the year
Placeholder Image

The Georgia Chamber of Commerce has announced that state Sen. Jack Hill (R-Reidsville) is one of the recipients of the organization’s 2009 Legislator of the Year Awards, given annually to those who went above and beyond on behalf of the state’s business community during the previous legislative session.  

“This year, our legislative leadership faced especially difficult choices as they addressed an historic budget deficit.  We commend our honorees for ensuring that this was done in a way that did not create new taxes or implement onerous mandates on our state’s business community,” said Haydon Stanley, principal with Fiveash Stanley and chair of the Georgia Chamber Government Affairs Council.

The other legislators of the year are as follows:

Sen. Ronnie Chance (R-Tyrone)

Rep. Ben Harbin (R-Evans)

Rep. Glenn Richardson (R-Dallas)

Rep. Calvin Smyre (D-Columbus)  

“Maintaining Georgia’s economic attractiveness and competitiveness is critical to our future success. These individuals not only understand that, but demonstrated an unwavering commitment to maintaining an environment in Georgia where new and existing businesses can thrive,” said George Israel, president and CEO of the Georgia Chamber of Commerce.

The Georgia Chamber of Commerce’s primary mission since its founding in 1915 has been advocacy on behalf of business at the state and federal level.