By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Senators applaud drought declaration
Placeholder Image

WASHINGTON, D.C.—U.S. Sens. Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga., and Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., joined members of the Georgia delegation this week in applauding Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack’s decision to declare 22 drought-stricken counties, including Effingham County, in Georgia disaster areas. Since December, many parts of Georgia have experienced extreme weather conditions and suffered numerous crop losses. With the USDA Secretarial Disaster Designation, Georgia farmers will be able to apply for emergency loans and other benefits to ease losses.

“Secretary Vilsack went above and beyond our request, naming an additional 26 counties as contiguous disaster counties,” said Sen. Chambliss, a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee. “I am thankful these drought-stricken counties in Georgia will have access to the aid they need to bounce back from this unfortunate situation. Now we need rain.”

“I commend Secretary Vilsack for issuing a federal disaster designation for the 22 counties affected by the severe drought in Georgia,” said Sen. Isakson. “It will allow farmers to receive the support they need to recover from this unfortunate natural disaster.”

Farmers may contact their local FSA office for more information.