By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
19 nominated for GHP
Placeholder Image

Nineteen Effingham County students – 10 from South Effingham High School and nine from Effingham County High – have been nominated for the 2013 Governor’s Honors Program.

Governor’s Honors is a residential summer program, hosted by Valdosta State University, for gifted and talented high school rising juniors and seniors. Each student is nominated in a particular field of study.

Effingham County’s nominees along with nearly 3,000 others from across the state will be interviewed and auditioned over three weekends in January and February. From those, as many as 690 finalists will be chosen to participate in the 2013 GHP.

This year’s Effingham County GHP nominees, and their fields of study, are:


Raquel Carpenter – Communicative Arts

Sriharshini Chitluri – Executive Management

John Cowart – Biology

Rajvi Dave – Social Studies

James Dyches – Agriscience/Biotechnology

Kathryn Miles – Music/Voice

Chandler Pate – Music/Voice

Casie Wilson – Communicative Arts

Timothy Wyman – Music/Voice


Liam Bendig – Communicative Arts

Ryan Burke – Communicative Arts

Kenerly Gordon – Biology

Adam King – Music/Woodwinds

Henry Miles – Music/Woodwinds

Dylan Moore – Music/Jazz

Hannah Osborne – Communicative Arts

Mallory Seney – Visual Arts

Alexander Trinh – Music/Brass

Kwan-In Tseng – Visual Arts

This summer will mark the 50th year of Georgia’s Governor’s Honors Program, making it the longest continually running program of its kind in the nation. Students attend GHP at no cost, as the Georgia General Assembly fully funds the cost of tuition, room, board and instructional supplies.

For four weeks, the students spend the morning in their major area of nomination and the afternoon in one of the other areas of study. The evenings are filled with seminars, activities, concerts and performances.