By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Two dozen earn AP Scholar status
Nathan McDonald
Nathan McDonald earned AP Scholar status. - photo by Photo provided
Twelve students from South Effingham High School and 12 students from Effingham County High School have earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams. The exams were taken in May after completing the challenging college-level courses.  
The following AP Scholars are seniors this year at SEHS:  Andrew Faircloth, Robert McLaughlin and Austin Freeman (AP Scholar with Honor). The AP Scholars from SEHS who graduated last spring are: Alexis Fuhrman, Rachel Gadomski, William Hatcher, Amanda Hein, Audry Hyde, Sarah Mobley,
Melanie Richtman, David Stapleton and John Rodriguez (AP Scholar with Distinction).
The following AP Scholars are seniors this year at ECHS: Christina Hillman, Nathan McDonald, Karlie Persutti, Emily Woods and Stephen Tyson. The AP Scholars from ECHS who graduated last spring are:  Jamie Allen, Mathew Barry, Cameron Collins, Jacob Curtis, Emily Holton and Jeffrey Howard (AP Scholar with Honor.)  
The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school, and to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams. About 17 percent of the more than 1 million high school students worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar. The College Board’s mission is to connect students to college success and opportunity.