By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Alderman, Lee wont face opposition
Placeholder Image

Springfield Mayor Barton Alderman, along with two incumbent city council members, will be returned to office.

Alderman, who was appointed mayor last October, previously served as mayor from 2004-09. No one else qualified last week to run against him. With three qualifiers for the three council seats up for election, the general election scheduled for Nov. 5 will be cancelled.

Incumbents Charles Hinely and Kenny Usher will remain on the city council, and Jerry Maennche will assume the seat being vacated by Katherine Pridgeon, who did not qualify to run. Hinely and Usher have been council members since 2006.

Rincon Mayor Ken Lee also will be returned to office after no one else qualified to run against him, but the city council election will go ahead, as five people qualified to run for three seats.

Incumbents Scott Morgan and Levi Scott Jr. are running or re-election, and Harry Capwell, Christina Shores Ricker and George Saraf also qualified to run. Council member Frank Owens is not seeking re-election.

Capwell and Saraf, who also served previously as Rincon mayor, ran two years ago.

Lee will start his third term as Rincon mayor next year. Scott, who served on city council in the 1990s, and Morgan each are seeking a third consecutive term on city council.

Rincon’s election will be held Nov. 5.