By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cities, county pour efforts into water board nominees
Placeholder Image

The water and sewer ad hoc committee proposes four possible nominees for the regional water planning council: Effingham Industrial Development Authority member Dennis A. Webb, school board member Lamar Allen, Rincon Mayor Ken Lee and county engineer Steve Liotta.

Seventeen local reps attended last week’s committee meeting to discuss candidates who meet the qualifications the state Environmental Protection Division released in July. Their goal was to reach a consensus on several individuals and then take their choices back to the representative entity for a vote of support.

“We hope to get a resolution from all entities,” said Liotta, a committee member and nominee.

The county commission will prepare the resolution and then present it to each municipality for action. County commissioners will meet Aug. 19.

“We need to make sure we have a strong voice on this committee,” said Lee, “someone who will represent us and our needs.”

Each of the four nominees has served in Effingham County either as a Chamber board member or president, city or county elected official or on the school board.

Allen said he is “pleased to be nominated” and believes a regional water council is a great idea.

"It's got to be regional, because it's the only way we're going to deal anymore," he said. "I've been on other regional boards, so I know it's the best way to approach things anymore."

Nominations will be accepted through Aug. 29, and should be mailed to 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr., Suite 1152 East, Atlanta, GA 30334.

There will be 10 regional councils with 28 seats each — 25 members and three alternates. Of the 25, four shall be mayors or council members and four elected county officials. 

The governor, lieutenant governor and speaker of the House of Representatives will make the appointments in the following manner:

The governor will appoint 13 members and an alternate. The lieutenant governor will appoint six members, one alternate and one non-voting ex officio Senate member. The Speaker will appoint six members, one alternate and one non-voting ex officio House member.

About the proposed Effingham nominees:
• Dennis A. Webb currently serves as an IDA member. Prior to that he served on Springfield City Council for four years, serving as mayor-pro tem for two of those years and responsible for the chairmanship of the water and sewer committee. Webb also worked as a Chamber of Commerce board member, serving as president two different terms.

• Lamar Allen, an Effingham County school board member representing the 3rd district, has served on the United Way board, is a past president of the Rotary Club, a past president of the Chamber of Commerce and has served on several regional boards.

• Ken Lee has served as Rincon mayor since 2006. He’s also served on the Chamber of Commerce board and as president in addition to his time as vice chairman on the EDA board.

• Steve Liotta worked for the Environmental Protection Division prior to becoming county engineer. He has experience dealing with drinking water, wastewater, and stormwater, and represents a current water withdrawal and water discharge (land application system) permit holder. His regional resource planning experience includes assisting with the implementation of saltwater management plans during his tenure with EPD and participating in negotiating the Effingham County-Rincon surface water supply contract.  Other “public service” functions include being a member of the United Way (Effingham Service Center) Advisory Board, and its building and grounds committee chair, and as missions team leaser for the Goshen United Methodist Church.