By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Kieffer, Jones, Mason to run again
Mason draws opponent in re-election bid
Placeholder Image

At least one Effingham County commissioner race will be contested in the May 20 general primary.

Incumbent Steve Mason has qualified to run for re-election for the District 3 post he has held since 2010. Jamie Deloach also qualified to run for the seat.

Both men are running as Republicans and submitted their qualification papers Monday.

The incumbents for two other county commission seats up for election this year also qualified for another term Monday. Vera Jones will run to retain her District 2 seat, and Phil Kieffer will run again for District 5.

Two Effingham County Board of Education seats are up for election this year, and both will have new occupants. District 1 board member Eddie Tomberlin has decided not to seek re-election and District 4 board member Mose Mock stepped down last month.

Robert Grant has qualified to run for the District 1 seat, and Amanda Phillips has qualified to run for the District 4 post. School board positions are non-partisan.

Positions up for election this year also include the state court solicitor and state court judge. Solicitor is a partisan office and state court judge is non-partisan.

Advance voting for the general primary will be held Monday-Friday, April 28-May 16 and also on May 10.