By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rincon's Purcell reelected to State Transportation Board
Ann Purcell
Ann R. Purcell was re-elected to serve a third term on the State Transportation Board representing Georgia's Congressional District 1 on Tuesday, March 1, 2022.

ATLANTA, GA – On Tuesday, a caucus of Georgia state representatives and senators from Congressional District 1 and Congressional District 3 held elections for the State Transportation Board.

Ann R. Purcell, who currently represents Congressional District 1 in Southeast Georgia, was reelected to serve her third term. The board will also welcome a newly elected member, Dennis McEntire, who was elected to represent Congressional District 3 located in West Central Georgia.

Purcell, a former state legislator from Rincon, served as chairperson of the State Transportation Board in 2018-2019. She currently serves as the chair of the Statewide Transportation Planning/Strategic Planning Committee and is the vice chair of the Intermodal Committee. Purcell also is a member of the Finance Committee, Legislative Committee, Program Delivery Committee and the Gateways Committee. She represents 17 counties in Southeast Georgia. Those include Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Echols, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, Long, Lowndes, McIntosh, Pierce, Ware and Wayne.

Purcell spoke to the busy agenda for 2022 as the state rebounds from the COVID-19 pandemic.
 “As we continue on the road to normalcy, Georgia DOT remains steadfast in its efforts to boost the competitiveness of the state by improving freight mobility, enhancing quality of life for our constituents and focusing on moving Georgia forward,” she said.

Purcell was born in Glennville and graduated from Georgia Southern College with a degree in education majoring in mathematics. She and her husband, Dent, have three children and eight grandchildren.

McEntire has spent more than three decades as general manager of Newnan Utilities, a municipal water and light utility with more than a century-long history of providing outstanding service to the residents of Newnan and Coweta County. In his role, he is responsible for the management of all organizational departments including electrical and water operations, public relations and finance.
He was born in Rome, Georgia, began his higher education at what was then called Floyd Junior College (now Georgia Highlands College), then graduated from the University of Georgia with a degree in business management. His first job out of college was working for Georgia Power.
Georgia DOT is governed by a 14-member State Transportation Board which exercises general control and supervision of the Department. The Board is entrusted with powers which include, but are not limited to: naming the Commissioner; designating which public roads are encompassed within the state highway system; approving long-range transportation plans; overseeing the administration of construction contracts; and authorizing lease agreements. Board Members are elected by a majority of a General Assembly caucus from each of Georgia’s fourteen congressional districts. Each board member serves a five-year term.