By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Three candidates file for each commission seat up for election
Placeholder Image

The Effingham County commission seats up for election this year have drawn interest from several candidates.

Three people are running for each of the seats — chairman at-large and districts 1 and 4.

Jamey Stancell, a Springfield businessman and president of the Springfield Merchants Association, qualified on the last day Friday for the District 4 seat. Incumbent Reggie Loper and Steve Collins qualified previously.

Bob Brantley, the Democratic incumbent, faces no opposition in the July 31 primary, but two Republicans — Forrest Floyd and Solomon Smith — will square off in the primary.

Three people qualified to run for the at-large chairman post, currently held by Dusty Zeigler. Franklin Goldwire, a Democrat, qualified and two Republicans, Charlie Kea and Wendell Kessler, also qualified.

Coroner David Exley, a Republican, is running for re-election and will face private detective and gun dealer Christopher G. Frost in the primary.

Incumbent tax commissioner Linda McDaniel will run again, and she will be opposed by John Kieffer in the Republican primary.