By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Three throw their hat in the ring for at-large chairman
Placeholder Image

The opening of qualifying brought three candidates for the Effingham County commission’s chairman at-large post.

Former educator Dr. Franklin Goldwire has filed to run for the post seat as a Democrat. Two Republicans, Charlie Kea and Wendell Kessler, have qualified to run for the position, currently held by Dusty Zeigler.

Philip King, who earlier had announced his intention to run for chairman, will not qualify. King cited health reasons in deciding against running for the post.

Two other county commission seats, districts 1 and 4, also are up for election this year. Democrat incumbent Bob Brantley has qualified to run again in Disrict 1. Two Republicans, Forrest Floyd and Solomon Smith, have qualified to run for the post.

Reggie Loper, a Republican incumbent, will run again for District 4. He will be opposed in the primary by Steve Collins.

Linda McDaniel also has qualified for re-election as tax commissioner. She will be faced in the Republican primary by John Kieffer.

Republican incumbents Jimmy McDuffie and David Exley face no opposition so far in the races for sheriff and coroner, respectively.

In nonpartisan countywide races, Scott Hinson has qualified to run for chief magistrate, and Beth Rahn Mosley has qualified to run for probate judge. Both Hinson and Mosley are incumbents. Lamar Allen has qualified to run for the board of education District 3 seat he now holds, and Troy Alfordwill run again for the District 2 post he serves currently.

Bill Hitchens and Kristopher Moutray have qualified for the state House District 161 Republican primary. Ann Purcell, the incumbent, is retiring from that seat. Jon Burns will run for the House District 159 seat and has no opposition yet in his re-election bid.

Jack Hill, a Reidsville Republican, will seek to defend his state Senate District 4 seat. No one else has qualified for his seat yet.

Ogeechee Judicial Circuit District Attorney Richard Mallard will run for re-election, and he will be opposed by Springfield attorney Martha Kirkland Hall. All three Ogeechee Judicial Circuit Superior Court judges — Gates Peed, John R. Turner and William Woodrum — will run for re-election.

U.S. Rep. Jack Kingston (R-Savannah) will run for re-election to his District 1 seat. Nathan Russo, a St. Simons Island retiree, and Lesli Rae Messinger, a Savannah small business owner, have qualified for the Democratic primary.

U.S. Rep. John Barrow (D-Savannah) will seek re-election to his District 12 post. Four Republicans — Rick Allen, Lee Anderson, Wright McLeod and Maria Sheffield — have qualified to challenge Barrow.