By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Young Farmers group recognizes award winners
Tony Morgan
Michael Lee presents Tony Morgan with the award for Young Farmer of the Year. - photo by Photo by Sandi Van Orden

The Young Farmers held its annual Christmas Awards Banquet last Monday.

Effingham School Superintendent Randy Shearouse presented awards to those who had completed additional education.

“The young farmer organization has a lot to offer our kids, and I’m so glad to see those students here tonight,” he said.

He commended the young farmers for having instructor, student, parent and community support.

Shearouse said that the board of education believes it is important to recognize all levels of academic achievement.

Brad Rahn, Tony Morgan, Pete Smith and Glenn Zittrouer were awarded for completing 60 hours, and Billy Hughes was awarded for completing 90 hours.

Winners for corn, soybean and peanut production were announced.

The corn contest sponsored by Bank of America recognized first place Bart Waller, second place Brad Rahn and third place Double A Farms.

The soybean contest sponsored by Ag. South Farm Credit recognized first place Larry Redmond, second place Carroll Zittrouer and third place Brad Rahn.

The peanut contest sponsored by Dasher Insurance Agency awarded first place Brad Rahn and second place Tony Morgan.

Michael Lee of Citizens Bank presented Tony Morgan with the award for Young Farmer of the Year.

Ann Purcell presented Michael Lee with the award for Agribusinessman of the Year, sponsored by the Bank of Newington.