By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Five Mustangs make all-region first team
Placeholder Image

The South Effingham Mustangs placed five players on the all-Region 3-AAA football team, released this week.

Running back Gage Marks, offensive lineman Tyler Jenkins, defensive end Cody Miller, kick returner Frank Manker and place-kicker Chris Zittrouer earned first-team honors for the Mustangs.

Marks led the Mustangs in rushing yards (961) and rushing touchdowns (12). Miller had a team-high 89 tackles and also had four sacks. Manker averaged 33.9 yards on his kickoff returns and had an 80-yard return for a touchdown. Zittrouer was 21-of-27 on PATs and was 6-of-7 on field goals, with a long of 49 yards. Jenkins helped pave the way for a rushing offense that averaged 200 yards a game.

Punter Conner Carmack and kick returner Dominique Chance earned second team honors.

Receiving honorable mentions were offensive lineman Avery Bragg, defensive back Tanner Burch and defensive lineman Michael Woodward.

All Region 3-AAA  

Kennan Grissett, Cross Creek, First Team
A.J. DeFillipps, Benedictine, Second Team
Tyler Hammett, Burke Co., Honorable Mention
Connell Reddick, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention

Offensive backs
Patrick Province, Cross Creek, First Team
Gage Marks, South Effingham, First Team
James Bonner, Thomson, Second Team
Caleb Collins, Benedictine, Second Team
Colin Bing, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
John Williams, Benedictine, Honorable Mention

Tight ends
Antonio Danzy, Washington Co., First Team
Mike Leverett, Harlem, Second Team
Tavarez Washington, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention

Tomarez Jenkins, Hephzibah, First Team
Eric Eitson, Cross Creek, First Team
Jay Gibson, Cross Creek, Second Team
Kevin Davenport, Glenn Hills, Second Team
Justin Lord, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Bobby Burum, Burke Co., Honorable Mention

Offensive line
Tyler Jenkins, South Effingham, First Team
Joey Rutherford, Benedictine, First Team
Joshua Fuller, Liberty, First Team
Jared Bing, Cross Creek, First Team
Chris Martin, Burke Co., First Team
Chris Scott, Benedictine, Second Team
James Ryan, Glenn Hills, Second Team
Ocstadian Bailey, Thomson, Second Team
Marcus White, Harlem, Second Team
Matt Wyatt, Richmond Hill, Second Team
Victor Moli, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Michael Thomas, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention
Avery Bragg, South Effingham, Honorable Mention
Eric McCants, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
James Briscoe, Cross Creek, Honorable Mention

Defensive backs
Emory Wilson, Cross Creek, First Team
Darius Eubanks, Thomson, First Team
Stephen Swinson, Benedictine, First Team
Brandon Watts, Washington Co., First Team
Jermaine Harris, Glenn Hills, Second Team
Kevin Bodiford, Richmond Hill, Second Team
Alphonso Gillette, Burke Co., Second Team
Bruce Cole, Butler, Second Team
Mike Boyd, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention
Evan Williams, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Tanner Burch, South Effingham, Honorable Mention
Gary Robinson, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention

Defensive line
Cornelius Washington, Burke Co., First Team
Jericho Brown, Glenn Hills, First Team
Cody Miller, South Effingham, First Team
Mike Lee, Cross Creek, First Team
Trier Bennett, Liberty, Second Team
Johnathan Ringer, Thomson, Second Team
Jeff Howard, Cross Creek, Second Team
Jerel Stephenson, Glenn Hills, Second Team
Manny Garcia, Richmond Hill, Honorable Mention
Caleb Coley, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Donnie Jordan, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Michael Woodward, South Effingham, Honorable Mention
Josh Davis, Richmond Hill, Honorable Mention

Nathan Kilburn, Richmond Hill, First Team
Ernest Chisholm, Benedictine, First Team
Ashton Lynch, Cross Creek, First Team
Lonnie Moore, Glenn Hills, First Team
Dmitri Lane, Liberty Co., Second Team
Lonnie Harris, Thomson, Second Team
Michael Johnson, Benedictine, Second Team
Maurice Goodwin, Glenn Hills, Second Team
Demetrius Washington, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention
Jarell Washington, Cross Creek, Honorable Mention
Michael Clark, Glenn Hills, Honorable Mention
Willie Marion, Washington Co., Honorable Mention

Athletes and kick returners
Terrell Fitts, Glenn Hills, First Team
Byron Calahan, Liberty Co., First Team
Frank Manker, South Effingham, First Team
Xavier Owens, Richmond Hill, Second Team                                                                                      Fuentes Brown, Butler, Second  Team
Dominique Chance, SEHS, Second Team
Blake Bush, Hephzibah, Honorable Mention

Chris Zittrouer, South Effingham, First Team
Robert Emory, Harlem, Second Team
Phillip Anderson, Thomson, Honorable Mention

Jeff Cannon, Glenn Hills, First Team
Conner Carmack, South Effingham, Second Team
Sean Milligan, Richmond Hill, Honorable Mention