By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Effingham County 4-H bestows awards

4-H’ers recently gathered at the beautiful Effingham County Fairgrounds to participate in an awards reception honoring their many achievements.

As the recipients reflected upon their hard work and experiences, all in attendance took notice of the sincere value this program brings to Effingham County. The Effingham Extension staff works hard to foster the youth of Effingham County, offering an array of opportunities throughout the year for the 4-H Youth Development program. The 4-H program works closely with the Effingham County Board of Education to provide school-age children in grades 4-12, as well as various homeschool groups, an additional resource that allows them to gain leadership skills, self-confidence, pride and an important sense of responsibility.

Building leaders for the future has been one of the strengths of the 4-H program for many years. Despite many challenges posed, this year was no different with the 4-H Leadership Team being apprised of seven outstanding 4-H members: Emily Jarriel, president; Owen Mercer: vice president of Member Services; Ellie Kate Watson, vice president of Marketing and Outreach; April Moss, chair of Recreation; Carlyn Waldhour, chair of Community Outreach; Alyssa Mullenix, chair of Photography; Emilie Rowland, chair of Programs. 

Awards and recognition were given to 4-H members for the outstanding work they have done throughout the year and involvement in the various areas of the Effingham 4-H program.

Since 1987, the Clyo Homemakers Club has designed quilts of a different theme for the Effingham County 4-H Educational Scholarship Fund. The scholarship is granted to a graduating senior 4-H member with outstanding 4-H and Leadership achievements.

The club is grateful to this committee, which designs and quilts a beautiful work of art each year and for its continued support of youth involved in Effingham 4-H programs. The recipient of the award is Lauren Usher, senior 4-H member. Usher has been an active 4-H’er since the 5th grade. She will be receiving a $500 scholarship.

The 4-H Leadership Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding 4-H member. This scholarship is open to all active 4-H members who are graduating seniors. The 2021 recipient of this award is Macy Morgan. Morgan has been an active member of 4-H since the 5th grade. She will be receiving a $1,000 scholarship.

Each year, thousands of dollars in State 4-H scholarships are awarded to only 35 exceptional 4-H members statewide. A portfolio of 4-H activities and achievements is completed and submitted to the State 4-H office and reviewed by a panel of judges. More than 100 applicants submit portfolios each year for this prestigious scholarship award. 

Mercer, a Master 4-H’er, was the 2021 recipient of the Hugh Moss Comer Scholarship.

At the close of the 4-H awards ceremony, recognition was given to the 2021 graduating seniors: Amber Jones, Mercer, Morgan, Usher, Emilie Rowland, Emily Jarriel, Isaiah Scott, Michael Roberts and Zaniya Brown.

The Effingham County 4-H program is led by Abby Smith, County Extension coordinator; Morgan Triplett: County Extension educator; Andi Drescher: program assistant; Karen Looper, administrative assistant; Blake Carter: ANR agent; and Chase Weitman: AmeriCorps member.

For more Information about our program, you can contact us at (912)-754-8040 or