By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lewis named commission chairperson
Placeholder Image

For what is likely the last time, Effingham County commissioners chose their chairperson Thursday morning.

Myra Lewis, the District 2 commissioner, received four of five votes in the election. Lewis voted for her predecessor, Verna Phillips, who switched seats with Lewis on the dais. Lewis had been vice-chairperson, and Reggie Loper was elected vice-chairperson by a 4-1 vote.

“I’m going to do the very best I can,” Lewis said of her new position. “I appreciate the confidence they placed in me. I know it holds a lot of challenges. I want to commend Mrs. Phillips for serving in this position.”

Phillips had served as chairperson for the last two years.

Legislation passed last year by the Georgia General Assembly established a chairman to be elected countywide. That seat will be contested in the 2008 elections.

Lewis is in her second term and her sixth year on the board of commissioners. She said she has learned a lot about presiding over the meetings watching, but it is not as easy as it appears.

“There’s a lot of pressure,” she said.

Phillips is one of two former commission chairpersons, along with 1st District Commissioner Hubert Sapp, on the current board of commissioners.

“The variety of opinions are a good thing,” Lewis said. “People’s opinions are important.”