By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
News Briefs for June 19, 2024
Misty Folker
Misty Folker, Bank of Newington

Local bankers earn banking school diplomas

 Special to the Herald

Misty Folker and August Shearouse with Bank of Newington in Newington have graduated from the Georgia Banking School. The graduation ceremony took place May 3 at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education and Hotel in Athens.

Established in 1961, the Georgia Banking School is a three-year specialized school run by the Georgia Bankers Association. The purpose of the school is to prepare bank managers to effectively and profitably serve their hometowns by developing a thorough understanding of banking practices, regulations, and management principles.

August Shearouse
August Shearouse, Bank of Newington
During the course of the three-year program, graduates complete an annual one-week residence session at the University of Georgia in Athens as well as home study problems between sessions. The school provides a well-balanced curriculum featuring UGA faculty members, veteran bankers, and other industry experts and specialists.

Folker and Shearouse both work at the Springfield branch of Bank of Newington.

“For 64 years, this school has been a highly effective resource for developing the leadership talents of Georgia bankers," said Georgia Banking School Board Chair Darron Burnette, Mortgage Division president, Synovus Bank. “It is common for graduates of the program to go on to become senior executives and bank CEOs as their careers grow.”

Forty-nine Georgia bankers graduated from the Georgia Banking School this year.


LDSS’s June Family Support meeting June 20


SAVANNAH -- Lowcountry Down Syndrome Society invites the public to its monthly family support meeting, June 20, beginning at 6:30 p.m. at1525 Dean Forest Rd., Savannah. Enter through the side entrance marked 100A.

 For those who missed it, LDSS will be screening the Night of Champions 2024 ceremony that took place on May 3. This is a great opportunity to witness a significant part of what LDSS is all about.

Attendees are encouraged to bring friends and even new acquaintances to experience this event. All past Champions have been invited to attend, providing a chance to meet and hear their inspiring stories firsthand.

For more information about LDSS, contact Joe Marchese at 912-213-9999 or by email at:


ABAC recognizes students for academic excellence

Special to the Herald

TIFTON – Students who achieved academic excellence in their coursework during the spring 2024 semester were recently recognized at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College. ABAC cites its top academic students each semester on the President’s Honor List, the Dean’s Honor List, and the Distinguished Achievement List.

The President’s Honor List is the highest academic honor possible for ABAC students. Each student on the list attained an “A” in every subject, resulting in a perfect 4.0 grade point average. The students had to carry a minimum of 12 hours of academic work.

Students who qualified for the Dean’s Honor List attained a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and carried at least 12 hours of academic work. The Distinguished Achievement List is composed of students who complete between six and 11 hours of academic work with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The purpose of this list is to recognize excellence and scholastic achievement among part-time students. Effingham County students by hometowns are as follows:

Guyton -- President’s List: Aidan Taylor; Dean’s List: Aspen Foster, Breanna Harris, Jane Kraeling, and Macee Smith.

Rincon -- Dean’s List: Peighton Capwell, Lane Harvey, and Austin McMahon.

Springfield -- President’s List: Megan Williams. Dean’s List: Jakeeria Kitchen.


Effingham County residents receive college honors, degrees

David Hagan of Guyton was named to the dean's list at Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, Illinois, during the recently completed spring 2024 semester. To qualify for inclusion on the dean's list, a student must have been enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student and attained a semester grade point average of 3.50 or higher on a 4.00 grading scale.

Kevin Fernandez of Guyton was one of more than 1,300 graduates from to receive degrees Austin Peay State University at the commencement ceremony on May 3 in Clarksville, Tennessee.

Tiffany Balph, a resident of Meldrim, made the Dean’s List; and Alexis Lane of Guyton, made the Spring 2024 Academic Achievement List at Georgia Southwestern State University in Americus and was among 730 students recognized for scholastic achievement.

To be eligible for the Dean's List, a student must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or better and take a minimum of 12 credit hours.

To be eligible for the Academic Achievement List, a student must previously earn at least 12 credit hours at GSW, be enrolled in 3 to 11 hours of courses, and earn a 3.5 or higher GPA.

Jamila Youmans of Bloomingdale was among more than 300 graduates celebrated during Piedmont University's commencement ceremonies May 10 in Demorest.

More than 2,000 friends and family members filled the Piedmont University Quad to watch as graduates received degrees, shook hands with President Marshall Criser III and Board Chair Gus Arrendale, and turned their tassels, fulfilling a long-awaited dream for many after the pandemic canceled their high school graduation ceremonies. Sen. Bo Hatchett (R-50) was the guest speaker.

Benjamin Epperley and Jaiden Gay, both from Guyton, were recently named to the LaGrange College Spring Semester Vice President of Academic Affairs’ List. 

To be eligible for this honor, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.6 while taking a minimum course load of 12 hours.


 Exchange Club presents scholarships

Exchange Club Scholarships
At its meeting on June 12, the Exchange Club of Effingham introduced its two high school students award recipients. Anslem Green (left) was awarded the ACE Award (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence). He will attend college in Nebraska on a football scholarship. Nathan Hayes (right) was awarded Youth of the Year and will attend Georgia Tech on an academic scholarship. Both students graduated from Effingham County High School in May. (Submitted photo.)