By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Reiser, Pelote emerge from tight runoffs
Olivia Morgan
Effingham County Director of Elections and Registration Olivia Morgan cuts the seal on the container of early votes before the ballot counting started Tuesday in the Leisure Services Room in Guyton. - photo by Mark Lastinger/staff

GUYTON -- Marshall Reiser and Hursula Pelote prevailed in highly competitive runoffs for seats on the Guyton City Council on Tuesday.

In the race for the Post 1 seat,  Reiser edged Tamela Mydell 233-224. The duo tied 216-216 on Nov. 5.

Pelote edged Andy Harville 234-226 in their runoff after emerging from a three-way Nov. 5 race that included Michael Gerwig. She trailed early Tuesday but surged to the lead on the strength of absentee ballots and election day votes.

Reiser and Pelote will join Mayor-elect Russell Deen on the city council in January. They will replace Steve Collins, Dr. Franklin Goldwire and Mayor Jeff Lariscy, respectvely.

Current Councilmembers Joseph Lee and Michael Johnson are in the middle of their four-year terms.

Tuesday's vote counting was led by Effingham County Director of Elections and Registration Olivia Morgan.