By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voluntary evacuation order issued in Effingham County and its cities
Placeholder Image

Effingham County, along with the cities of Rincon, Springfield  and Guyton, are issuing a voluntary evacuation order effective 8 a.m. Friday.

Effingham County Schools will clsoe Friday and may reopen on Wednesday.

Officials encourage everyone who feels the need evacuate to go ahead and do so. Evacuation shelter locations are being set up by the American Red Cross, and locations will be posted as they become available.