By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4-H Cloverleafs take part in Project Achievement
Pictured are the first-place winners at county Project Achievement for Cloverleaf 4-Hers. - photo by Photo provided

Cloverleaf (fifth- and sixth-graders) 4-H’ers selected a project area that interested them from more than 60 choices for county Project Acheivement. Students prepared a three-to-five-minute presentation using materials he/she learned, created three posters and used visuals to explain the topic for the presentation. Presentations were viewed by two judges and scored based on subject knowledge, visuals and speech delivery.

4-H’ers participating in Project Achievement research a topic and prepare a demonstration or “illustrated talk” with posters and props. This also includes fine art performances and step-by-step food product preparation. Recently, these demonstrations were given at a competitive event held at Effingham County Middle School.

“Each young person who participated in the event put in a lot of hard work and practice into preparing for the competition,” said Abby Smith, Effingham County 4-H agent. “I am very proud of all of them.”

First-place winners in various projects areas included: Autumn Asbill, Colby Beard, Kham Bell, Alexis Bolinger, Haley Casey, Luke Collins, Emily Devisscher, Ellen Hunter, Luke Jenkins, Chloe Johnsen, Mallory Johnson, Zoe Lincoln, Alissa Mincey, Jayson Morgan, Kaitlan O’Bannon, Gabriel Palmberg, Carmen Saxon, Rebecca Shea, Summer Smith, Kortney Stille, Olivia Summerlin, Gunnar Tyson, William White, Bailee Wilson, Carleigh Wilson and Destini Woodley.

Taking second place were: Alyssa Almerigotti, Carson Ash, Emily Bunning, Macy Harden, Rhett Hatcher, Shanasy Kicklighter, Abigail Laslie, Kinsley Lupton, Joseph Rouse, Destiny Scott and Chloe Strickland.

Third-place winners were: Cat Hall, Adrianna Hodges, Maegan Horton, Krissi Mixon, Tiffany Pittman, Baylor Thompson.

Fourth-place winners were: Owen Beaver, Logan Byrd, Jason Schimmel, Lacey Spivey and Kennedy Williams.

Other participants included: Grace Brantley, Katie Chaffin, Kaylee Stille, Chase Thompson, Jayrell Carter and Samantha Smith.