By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Effingham joining in honoring of school board members
Placeholder Image

The Effingham County School System is joining in a statewide celebration next week to salute the efforts of local school board members.

March 18-22 has been proclaimed School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. The weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

"Citizens elect board members to represent the community’s voice on education matters and to set the vision for the school district," said Effingham County Schools Superintendent Randy Shearouse. "Our board spends countless hours fulfilling its responsibilities and working together to continually improve our education system."

Effingham County Board of Education members, with their start dates on the school board, are:

District 1 – Eddie Tomberlin, Jan. 1, 2007

District 2 – Troy Alford, Vice Chair, Jan. 1, 2005

District 3 – Lamar Allen, Board Chair, Jan. 1, 2005

District 4 – Mose Mock, Jan. 1, 2011

District 5 – Vickie Decker, Aug.6, 2008

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students.

The Georgia School Boards Association sponsors School Board Appreciation Week. The mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing Georgia’s 180 elected boards of education. Visit for more information.