By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Exchange Club recognizes outstanding Effingham high school students
5.22 exchange youth 1
Youth of month winners were Geoffrey Horton of ECHS, Devan Goforth of SEHS, Lauren Spradley of ECHS, Isaiah Broomfield of SEHS and Sajal Patel of SEHS. Alongside are Taryn Knick and John Beyer of the Exchange Club. - photo by Photo provided

Nine outstanding seniors at the local high schools were recently recognized for their achievements in reaching the level of earning high school diplomas.

Students were selected under two Exchange Club programs, Youth of the Year and the ACE Award. Nominees for these awards are selected at each school through the counselor’s office.

Youth of the year are annually selected based on academic achievement, leadership skills, and community service. The nominees from ECHS and SEHS were guests at the Exchange Club meeting where they were given certificates of achievement for the recognition as a candidate in the youth of the year selection.

The A.C.E. (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence) recognizes students who have arrived at the point of high school graduation having overcome significant challenges in their life. These challenges may be in the area of physical, emotional and/or social obstacles.  This award recognizes the powerful examples of these students that hard work and perseverance really do pay.

The Exchange Club will select one student in each award area to represent the county in the District Exchange Club meeting in June. The selection was announced at Class Night.

The students were accompanied to the lunch for the recognition ceremony by family members or someone who had been significant in their life, high school counselors and administrative staff.

“We are pleased to have this opportunity to recognize their achievements. Students who work hard at succeeding as good students do not always get their due recognition. Our judges committee will have a difficult time selecting one winner for each award, we wish we could give them all the top award,” said Patrice Crawley, president-elect of the Club, who made the presentations  Members of the committee are: Karyn Kick, John Beyer and Lisa Pittman.