By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Remembering the sheriffs of Effingham
Sheriff Hubert Carr
Hubert O. Carr was Effingham County sheriff from 1937-60. - photo by Photo provided

1852-63 John Dasher

1864-70 Cletus Rahn

1871-Unknown Nathaniel Shearouse

1887089 Littleton B. Smith

1890 T. R. Tarver

1891-1902 W. W. Griffin

1904-13 Willie A. Jaudon

1914-19 Benjamin F. Marsh

1937-60 Hubert O. Carr

1961-72 Harry Lindsey

1973-80 Lloyd Fulcher

1981-83 James Randall

1983-96 Van Findley

1997-2002 J. C. “Jay” Space

2002 Richard J. Bush

2002-present Jimmy McDuffie

This was compiled by Susan Exley of Historic Effingham Society. If you have photos, comments or information to share, contact her at 754-6681 or email her at: