By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Effingham Democrats hold caucus
0925 democrats
The Effingham County Democratic Committee elected and re-elected members. From left to right are Paul Lindsay, Robin Smith, John Freels, Carla Freels, Claudia Collier and Jimmie Snooks. - photo by Photo provided

The Effingham County Democratic Committee held a public caucus to elect and re-elect members to the committee to represent all Democrats in the county. Chairman Jack Garvin presided over the election.

Representing the following posts, who will serve until 2016, are: District 1, Claudia Coller; District 2, Cara Freels; District 2, John Freels; District 3, Lucy Powell; District 4; Jimmie Snooks; and District 5, Ruth Brown.

Five at-large posts also were chosen — secretary Cathy Brantley, treasurer Debbie Quigley, Cheryl Goldwire, Paul Lindsay and Robin Smith. Other members still serving out terms on the committee are: William Wallace, District 3; Rev. Lloyd Dees, District 4; and Hank Heller, District 5.

Elected to at-large posts were Garvin, vice-chair Homer Wallace, vice-chair Gussie Nease and Dolores Dees. Ex-officio members are Commissioner Bob Brantley and Clerk of Superior Court Elizabeth Hursey. Willie Webb, past chair and a long-time member, was named honorary member.