By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Effingham Democrats hold county caucus
0629 Democrats
Above are the members of the Effingham Democratic Committee. From left to right, on the front row, are: Jack Garvin and Delmons White; back row, LaKesha Dean, Tony Chiariello, Claudia Collier and Jimmie Snooks. - photo by Photo provided

The Effingham County Democratic Committee recently held a public caucus to elect and re-elect members to the committee to represent all Democrats in the county. Chair, Jack Garvin presided over the election.

Representing the following posts, who will serve until 2020, are: District 1, Claudia Collier; District 2, Carla Freels; District 3, Lucy Powell; District 4, Jimmie Snooks; and District 5, Ruth Brown.

Four at-large posts also were chosen — District 3, Paul Lindsay and LaKesha Dean; District 4, Robin Smith; and District 5, Delmons White.
Other members still serving out terms on the committee are: John Freels, District 2; Jack Garvin and William Wallace, District 3; Dolores Dees, District 4; Tony Chiariello and Boyce Slayman, District 5.

At the meeting members also discussed the results of ballot questions submitted by the state Democratic party and the local county Democratic party for the May 24 election.

The group meets on the third every month. Call chair Jack Garvin for more info 429-1990 or email