By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Field set for Georgia presidential primary
Placeholder Image

ATLANTA — Georgia Secretary of State Karen Handel has received of candidate names for the presidential preference primary.

The executive committees of both the Democratic Party of Georgia and Georgia Republican Party must submit the list of candidates for the primary no later than Nov. 1 of the preceding year.

In accordance with the list provided by the Democratic Party of Georgia, the following candidates will be listed on the Democratic ballot in alphabetical order: Joe Biden, Hillary Clinton, Chris Dodd, John Edwards, Mike Gravel, Dennis J. Kucinich, Barack Obama and Bill Richardson.

In accordance with the list provided by the Georgia Republican Party, the following candidates will be listed on the Republican ballot in alphabetical order: Rudy Giuliani, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, Alan Keyes, John McCain, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo and Fred Thompson.

The presidential preference primary will be held Feb. 5, 2008. Voters who would like to participate in the Primary must register to vote by Jan. 7, 2008. If you would like to register to vote, please visit or call (404) 656-2871.

Additionally, voters can request absentee ballots for the presidential preference primary from their county elections office. For more information on how to request an absentee ballot, visit

Voters participating in Georgia elections by voting in-person are required to show photo ID. If a voter does not have photo identification, they can obtain a free voter ID card at their county registrars’ office or the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services. Anyone with additional questions about Georgia’s photo ID requirements can visit or call toll free 877-725-9797.