By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Jones, Hall leading lieutenant gubernatorial candidates

Late Tuesday night with 65 percent of the statewide vote recorded, Burt Jones was on the cusp of winning the GOP lieutenant gubernatorial primary without a runoff.

In Effingham County, Jones edged Butch Miller 3,695-3,342. Mack McGregor and Jeanne Seaver finished with 1,268 and 664, respectively.

In the Democrat race, Kwanza Hall appeared headed for a runoff with Charlie Bailey. Hall won Effingham County with 472 votes and Bailey finished third with 201.

Erick Allen (262), Tyrone Brooks Jr. (202), Tony Brown (126), Jason T. Hayes (70), Derrick Jackson (202), R. Malik (25) and Renitta Shannon (300) rounded out the Effingham voting