By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Seven to vie for Rincon council seats
Placeholder Image


Qualifying concluded Friday afternoon for the three municipal elections, and the race for the three seats on Rincon City Council will be crowded.

Incumbents Reese Browher and Paul Wendelken are running again, and they will be joined by five others. Harry Capwell, Greg Brunson, Teresa Witt, former Rincon mayor George Saraf and former Effingham County Board of Education member James Dasher.

The top three vote-getters will win seats on Rincon City Council. Ken Baxley, who holds the other seat up for election this year, has opted not to run for re-election. Baxley, a former councilmember who did not seek re-election in 2009, was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Ann Daniel, who resigned her post.

Springfield City Council incumbents Gary Weitman and Troy Allen are running again for their seats. Weitman was appointed earlier this year to fill the unexpired term of Max Neidlinger, who stepped down.

Butch Kieffer will not seek re-election. Steve Shealy has qualified to run. The top three vote-getters in Springfield will be elected and with no other candidates on the slate, Allen, Weitman and Shealy will be seated.

There was no opposition to the three Guyton City Council incumbents who are up for election. Brenda Lovett and Les Pevey have qualified to run again for their posts as alderman, and Michael Garvin is seeking another term as mayor.

Elections in the three cities will be held Nov. 8.