By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Three local races to be decided in May voting
Placeholder Image

Incumbent Wendall Kessler and former Rincon city manager Wesley Corbitt have filed their qualifying papers to run for Effingham County commission chairman.

Voting in the partisan primaries and for the non-partisan elections will be held May 24.

With Scott Hinson’s announcement last week he was not seeking re-election, Effingham voters will choose a new chief magistrate between Springfield Police officer Bryan Burgess, Effingham Sheriff’s Office Maj. Scott Lewis and attorney R. David Swords.

“It is bittersweet that I announce my decision not to seek re-election for a third term. These past two terms have given me great respect for not only the judicial system, but for local law enforcement and the admirable citizens of Effingham County,” Hinson said.

Hinson said he believes he has given Effingham citizens a fair and impartial forum and he said he has reduced the magistrate court’s annual budget.

The Effingham County Board of Education District 5 seat will be contested between incumbent Vickie Decker and challenger Delmons White.
District 2 board member Troy Alford and District 3 member Lamar Allen, who is the board chairman, did not draw opposition. County commissioners Forrest Floyd and Reggie Loper, who represent the 1st and 4th districts respectively, also are running unopposed for re-election.

Probate Court Judge Beth Rahn Mosley also is not opposed in her quest for a third term, and county Coroner David Exley is running unopposed. Clerk of Superior Court Elizabeth Hursey also is unopposed, as is Sheriff Jimmy McDuffie.

State Rep. Jon Burns, who represents House District 159, is being opposed in the Republican primary by Daniel Almond of Clyo. Bill Hitchens, who represents District 161, is not being opposed, and state Sen. Jack Hill of the 4th District also is running without opposition.

Springfield attorney Mickey Kicklighter, attorney Martha Hall and Ogeechee Judicial Circuit Assistant District Attorney Michael Muldrew have qualified to replace John R. Turner as a circuit Superior Court judge. Turner has announced his retirement from the bench.

U.S. Rep. Buddy Carter (R-Pooler) did not draw any opposition in the primary or in the general election in his bid for a second term in Congress. U.S. Rep. Rick Allen (R-Augusta), also seeking a second term, is going up against businessman Eugene Yu in the May 24 Republican primary. Democrats will decide between Joyce Nolin and Tricia Carpenter McCracken to go up against the Republican primary winner in the November general election.