By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voters give go-ahead to TSPLOST
N1611P52005C 1
During the early voting period, ballots can be cast in Rincon at City Hall, 302 South Columbia Ave., from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. through Friday. Guytons early voting is taking place at its City Hall from 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. through Friday. - photo by File illustration

SPRINGFIELD -- Effingham County voters approved a one-percent sales tax for transportation use during Tuesday's election.

The measure, expected to raise $45 million over a five-year period, passed 18,002-12,421.

In the presidential race, Effingham County picked President Donald Trump over Joe Biden 23,340-7,706.

In a special election for the U.S. Senate, Effingham County's top three vote-getters were incumbent Republican Sen. Kelly Loeffler (12,737), Republican Rep. Doug Collins (8,013) and the Rev. Raphael Warnock (4,938), a Democrat. Loeffler and Warnock will meet again in a runoff on Jan. 5, 2021.

Republican Sen. David Perdue (22,815) won Effingham County over Democrat Jon Ossoff (7,616) and Libertarian Shane Hazel (826). 

With 83 percent of the vote in statewide, Perdue appeared that a runoff against Ossoff would be unnecessary because he collected more than 50 percent of the ballots.