By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia FFA celebrates national winners at convention in Indianapolis
12.02 Michael Zoller
Michael Zoller ECHS FFA vice president - photo by Photo submitted

Georgia FFA chapters and members received national recognition during the 80th National FFA Convention held in Indianapolis Oct. 25-27. The 2007 convention theme was “Blue Jackets, Bright Futures.”

Over 50,000 FFA members, advisors and guests attended the annual convention including CJ Satterfield, ECHS FFA advisor; Caleb Crawford, ECHS FFA vice president; and Michael Zoller, ECHS FFA president. Also from Effingham County, Casey Wyman, Georgia State FFA vice president, was a national convention delegate.

Georgia FFA set a state record with 20 chapters being recognized as National 3-Star Chapters and four being recognized as National 2-Star Chapters. The 3-Star Chapters are Bainbridge, Berrien County High, Coffee County High, Colquitt County, Effingham County High, Eighth Street Middle, Fannin County, Jackson County, Jasper Middle, Jeff Davis High, Jeff Davis Middle, Lowndes County High, Morgan County, Oconee County High, Oconee County Middle, Pelham, Perry High, Putnam County, Screven County High and Southeast Whitfield. Recognized as 2-Star Chapters were Newton County, Seminole County, Stephens County High and Ware Magnet. This is Effingham County’s first time being a 3-Star Chapter.

The Georgia FFA Association received an award for increase in FFA membership for the ninth consecutive year. The Georgia FFA Association has the third largest FFA membership in the nation with over 25,500 members. FFA strives to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.