By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
STC awards scholarships for academic excellence and community service
Placeholder Image

SAVANNAH — Savannah Technical College students have been selected to receive Faculty and Staff Scholarships for 2009-10.

These scholarships are funded through gifts made by college employees and awarded through a competitive process to select candidates who have maintained high grade point averages and demonstrated financial need. This is the fourth year the scholarships have been awarded.

The 2009-10 Faculty and Staff Scholarship recipients are below with their majors and county of residence:
Heather Riggs, Business Administrative Technology Diploma - Effingham

Tyler Schecklman, an Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology major from Rincon, has been selected to receive the first Porter G. Piermont Rotary Scholarship at Savannah Technical College. In keeping with the Rotary mission of “service above self,” the scholarship honors community service.  Schecklman was very active as a high school student and has continued to be active in the student association on campus.

Scholarships are funded through private gifts to the Savannah Technical College Foundation. For information or to make a gift, please call (912) 443-3019.