By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Retired Educators hold annual banquet
0708 retired educators-bowers
Laverne Bowers of Springfield Elementary receives a scholarship from Patsy Zeigler. - photo by Photo provided

The Effingham County Retired Educators held their annual banquet June 30, handing out two $650 scholarships and their community service award.

Laverne Bowers, pictured at left, of Springfield Elementary received a scholarship from Patsy Zeigler. Michaela L. Kennedy also received a scholarship.

Sandra Moore won the community service award with more than 590 hours of service. Patsy Clayton presented the award to Moore.

State Reps. Jon Burns and Bill Hitchens, state Sen. Jack Hill and Effingham Superintendent Randy Shearouse all spoke at the event.