By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary results
Burns, Corbitt, Lewis, Decker win
Placeholder Image

Effingham County Sheriff's Office Maj. Scott Lewis will be the next Effingham County magistrate after he won a three-way race in Tuesday's general primary.

Lewis pulled in nearly 66 percent of the votes, averting a runoff, with 2,389 ballots cast in his favor. Bryan Burgess had 835 votes and David Swords had 409.

Former Rincon city manager Wesley Corbitt won the Republican primary for the Effingham County commission chairman, outpolling incumbent Wendall Kessler 1,619-1,528.

In the race for state House of Representatives District 159, incumbent and House majority leader Jon Burns retained his seat with a victory over challenger Daniel Almond in the Republican primary. Burns won with 3,855 votes while Almond collected 1,215. Burns took Effingham by a 1,358-402 margin.

Effingham County Board of Education District 5 member Vickie Decker held on to her seat with a 421-251 win over challenger Delmons White.

Martha Hall and Michael Muldrew apparently are headed to a runoff in the Ogeechee Judicial Circuit Superior Court judge race. Muldrew led all votegetters with 6,591 votes in the four counties, and Hall tallied 6,310. Springfield attorney Mickey Kicklighter received 3,181 votes. Hall won Effingham with 1,537 votes, and Kickighter was next with 1,434. Muldrew received 808 votes.

Of the 27,658 registered voters in Effingham, 3,983 cast ballots, a 14.4 percent turnout.