By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Shakeup in store for Guyton City Council
Springfield incumbents draw no challengers
election qualifying

The Guyton City Council is guaranteed to have some new faces in 2020.

Mayor Jeff Lariscy and Post 2 Council Member Dr. Franklin Goldwire opted not to run for re-election this fall. The qualifying period ended Friday afternoon.

In addition, Post 1 Guyton City Council Member Steve Collins has opted to seek the mayoral post. He will face Michael A. Garven Sr. and Russell Deen.

Tamela Mydell and Marshall A. Reiser will vie for the Post 1 Guyton City Council seat and Michael Gerwig, Andy Harville, Sam Harris and Hursula Pelote will battle for the Post 2 post.

Guyton's qualifying list is preliminary because some of the candidates submitted their applications at the last minute and their qualifications haven't been verified.

In Rincon, Patrick Kirkland joined the race for a Rincon City Council seat with incumbents Reese Browher, Paul Wendelken and James Dasher. The top three vote-getters will be seated on the council.

Springfield City Council incumbents Gary Weitman, Justin H. Cribbs and Steven R. Shealy didn't draw any challengers.