By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
STC inducts 57 into honors society
0419 stc honors
Savannah Technical College inducted 57 students into Phi Theta Kappa. - photo by Photo provided

SAVANNAH — Fifty-seven Savannah Technical College students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society in a ceremony STC’s Eckburg Auditorium. To qualify for Phi Theta Kappa membership, students must have completed a minimum of 12 degree-level semester credit hours and have a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

In the ceremony, STC President Dr. Kathy Love challenged the new members to continue their hard work at Savannah Tech and at future colleges, universities or occupations.

“Phi Theta Kappa is not the end of your studies,” said Dr. Love. “It is, in fact, just the beginning.”

STC Vice President of Academic Affairs Ken Boyd encouraged the new members to always keep working no matter the adversity encountered. Savannah Tech’s 2013 GOAL student of the year and Phi Theta Kappa member Ashley Smith acted as master of ceremonies.

The college’s 2013 Rick Perkins Teacher of the Year and Business Management Department Head Susan Pinkston gave the ceremony’s keynote address. Pinkston emphasized the importance of perseverance in education and work.

Savannah Technical College’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society 2013 inductees:
Patricia E. Akbar (tech specialist), Mary K. Apple (tech specialist), Darnell M. Arnsdorff (computer support specialist), Lisa Baez (early childhood care/education), Regan Myran Bento (accounting), Melinda Michele Bolton (computer support specialist), Lisa A. Bradley (tech specialist), Christina Marie Brower (accounting) Laurie Joan Brown (Business administrative tech), Shelonda Charrie Buggs (business management), Kaci A. Carter (industrial systems technology), Hannah Ruth Chapman (early childhood care/education), Bin Chen (accounting), Katelyn Diana Cole (early childhood care/education), Zachariah A. Coles (electronics/computer engineering), Demeeka Lashay Corbin Cobb (business management), Jill Ansley D’Arts (tech specialist), Brian Davis (Culinary Arts), Taylor Jordan Dickerson (business management), Alma Frances Dixon (computer support specialist), Charles Lance Dixon (networking specialist), Andrea Marie Drescher (culinary arts), Michael Anthony Fulcher (tech specialist), Emily Ruth Giddens (tech specialist), April Ylonda Harris (tech specialist), Taylor Elizabeth Hodges (business management), Sakari Tia Jones (tech specialist), Heather Marie Joyner (automotive tech), Carling Raine Kicklighter (tech specialist), Beth S. Klingensmith (culinary arts), Ida Marie Lee (criminal justice), Patricia E. Lowery (computer support specialist), Michelle G Lubinski (business administrative tech), Stephanie L. Madden (accounting), Shannon A. Marsh (early childhood care/education), Joseph Ernest Martin (computer support specialist), Imogene Messam (early childhood care/education), Sandra M. Napolitano (business management), Leisa Beth Nelson (drafting tech), Erin McKenzie O’Rourke (tech specialist), Lloyd Henry Oliver (construction management), Leandra E. Ortiz (Networking Specialist), Urvik Patel (accounting), Stephanie R. Patrick (surgical technology), Richard L. Redding (industrial systems tech), Emily Rose Rinehart (tech specialist), Mark Eugene Ross (electrical utility technology), Casey Scheidt (accounting), Claudia Soto (tech specialist), Janill Tatis (Business Management), Jasmine A. Taylor (business management), Carrie Dell Tevis (tech specialist), Nicholas Cameron Todd (air conditioning tech), Alain Paul Tougas (accounting), Veronica Joy Turner (tech specialist), Courtney Elizabeth Vinke (dental hygiene), Kristopher Willi (electronics/computer engineering).