By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
SEHS NJROTC completes best year in units history
The orienteering team - photo by Photo submitted

The South Effingham Naval Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps has just completed its best year ever, since Capt. Roger Coursey and Chief Petty Officer Larry Harmon started the program when the school opened in 1996.

The unit is now under the tutelage of Senior Naval Science Instructor Lt. Col. Terry Stautberg and Naval Science Instructor Master Chief Petty Officer Bob Auger.

The year culminated with an awards ceremony May 2. The SEHS NJROTC competes in Area-12, which includes 56 other NJROTCs in Georgia and northern Florida. The unit also competes in many joint service competitions in the area.

This is the first year that all of the units teams qualified for the area championships. These teams are, regulation drill with and without rifles, exhibition drill with and without rifles, the color guard, the rifle or marksmanship team, orienteering or land navigation, the academic team and an athletic team, which travels with and competes as part of the drill team.

The Color Guard won the joint service competition at the Veterans’ Day parade in Savannah.

The rifle team took first in Area-12, second in the Eastern region of the U.S. and fourth in the nation overall. At the national level, there are 3000 Army, Marine, and Navy marksmanship teams competing for the national title. In addition to many area civic organizations, the SEHS NJROTC unit also awarded ribbons and medals in the following areas.

Distinguished Cadet first through fourth year: John Braswell, Kortneigh Perryman, Ashley Burnsend and Aaron Soucy.
Honor Cadet first through fourth year: Samuel Foote, Devan Goforth, Adam Morse, Christina Douglas.

Other awards given were: exemplary personal appearance medals, aptitude award, exemplary conduct and academic.
The rifle team was recognized for the area championship, and their nation wide fourth ranking. Team members are Corey Jordan, Michael Hill, Tiffany Kineard, Justin Overstreet and Ross Bragg.

The Area-12 field meet competitors and brain brawl competitors were also recognized for winning first place in the area.