By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
STC Foundation awards scholarships for 2010-11
Placeholder Image
SAVANNAH—Twenty-one Savannah Technical College students were awarded privately funded scholarships for the 2010-11 academic year, which began Wednesday. The scholarships represent gifts made by individuals and organizations to the Savannah Technical College Foundation, a 501(c)3 organization that raises money to support students, workforce development projects and training activities at Savannah Technical College.
“Our scholarship committee worked diligently to review the more than 85 applications they received this year,” said Melinda Laager, executive director of the STC Foundation. The scholarship committee includes faculty and staff members along with Foundation Board and Community Council members.
This year’s winners include:
Receiving the Boiardi Trust Scholarship ($500 each)
Elizabeth Estes
Xavier M. Hunter
Eric J. Lutzenberger
Catherine B. Powers
Maria O. Suengas
Receiving the Faculty and Staff Scholarship ($1,000 each)
Marion Badie
Sako Ingrid C. Billa
Quacoo P. Danso
Issaka Guebre
Kelsey N. Haas
Alma P. Macedo
Li-chiu C. Nelson
Patricia L. Waters
Receiving the Grainger Scholarship ($500 each)
Arthur Green
Courtney R. Hardy
Clinton A. Littlefield
Leticia Simpore
Receiving the John Antonio Weldon Scholarship ($450 each)
Enoch N. Daniels
Quincy B. Parham
Receiving the Opportunity Award ($800)
Quacoo P. Danso
Receiving the Phyllis R. Schmidt Scholarship ($500)
Michelle S. Sapp
Receiving the Siemens Scholarship ($500)
David J. Haygood
Savannah Technical College serves more than 5,300 students each quarter with five locations  – in Savannah on White Bluff Road and in the Crossroads Business Park, in Hinesville on Airport Road and in the Army Education Center on Fort Stewart, and on Highway 21 in Rincon.