By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New commissioners to take part in first meeting today
Placeholder Image
The three newest members of the Effingham County Board of Commissioners will begin their first meeting today at 5 p.m.
Newcomers Vera Jones, Phil Kieffer and Steve Mason, who were sworn in last month, will begin their official duties, along with incumbent commissioners Bob Brantley, Reggie Loper and Chairman Dusty Zeigler. Among their topics for consideration on today’s proposed agenda are changing the geographical boundaries for the five current Georgia Militia Districts to coincide with the five current voting district boundaries.
Commissioners also will make their appointments to the Effingham Industrial Development Authority. With three commissioners starting new terms, there are three seats to be chosen for the IDA board. There is also a workshop scheduled to discuss the state of the county.
For the complete story, see the Tuesday Jan. 4, 2011 print edition of the Effingham Herald.