By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Purcell wins handily
Lee keeps mayor's seat
11.03 ann purcell 1
Ann Purcell addresses supporters Tuesday night. - photo by Photo by Pat Donahue

Election results (all numbers unofficial)

House District 159

Ann Purcell   4,462

Jesse Tyler   1,172




Ken Lee        404

George Saraf 179

City Council

Joseph Atkins    231

Scott Morgan    371

Frank Owens    278

Levi Scott Jr.    345

Teresa Witt       233




Wanda Laning    22

Jeff Northway    138

City Council

Jeff Ambrose     106

Charles Hinely    117

Alan Parker        94

Kenny Usher      104

Ann Purcell greeted a room of jubilant supporters at the Mulberry Inn and thanked them for their support Tuesday night.

Purcell, the former state representative, was returned to office in a special election to fill the House District 159 seat opened when Buddy Carter resigned to run for the District 1 Senate post.

With 84 percent of the precincts reporting, Purcell had a 4,462 to 1,172 lead over fellow Republican Jesse Tyler.

“I just want to say ‘thank you’ to all the voters who turned out in support of my re-election to the House,” Purcell said. “I’m excited about serving the community again. I’m delighted.”

District 159 covers south Effingham and west Chatham.

Rincon voters gave Mayor Ken Lee a second term with a resounding victory over former mayor and city councilman George Saraf. Incumbent council members Scott Morgan and Levi Scott also retained their seats, and Frank Owens was placed back on council. Owens will fill the seat relinquished by Ken Baxley, who chose not to run again.

Jeff Northway won handily over Wanda Laning in the race to replace outgoing Springfield Mayor Barton Alderman. Incumbent council members Jeff Ambrose, Charles Hinely and Kenny Usher also kept their council seats.