By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
South's Scott receives prestigious award
Isaiah Scott
Isaiah Scott - photo by Photo submitted

ATLANTA — 21st Century Leaders, a Georgia-based non-profit youth leadership and talent development program for high school students from diverse backgrounds, announces the top 21 youth leaders selected for its annual signature event, Georgia Youth Leadership Awards, presented by WarnerMedia, to be held March 25 online via EventLab, an Atlanta-based virtual event platform. 

21st Century Leaders (21CL), in partnership with the event corporate sponsors and partners, brings together business and civic leaders to raise support for 21st Century Leaders' year-round leadership programs while also recognizing 21 outstanding high school students throughout Georgia who have made a significant impact on their schools, communities and beyond. 21CL serves more than 900 students annually and this year’s top 21 include non-profit founders, entrepreneurs, philanthropists, writers and filmmakers and community advocates who truly represent the diversity of Georgia.

The nominated students were carefully chosen by a 28-member selection committee comprised of Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 40 under 40 members, 21CL Board of Directors, 21CL corporate volunteers  and 21CL alumni and student peers.

21st Century Leaders announced the following 21 outstanding youth leaders for the 2021 Georgia Youth Leadership Awards: Zahra Ahmed, DeKalb School of the Arts; Amit Balaji, Lassiter High School; Kaitlyn Carson, North Cobb High School ; Isabella Cavienss, Westlake High School; Cameron Coleman, Montgomery County High School; Savannah Hernandez, Marietta High School; Samyukta Iyer, Wheeler High School ; Anjali Joshi, South Forsyth High School;  Arie’una Long, Lake Oconee Academy; Hadassah Nehikhuere, Dutchtown High School; Tomi Oladeji, Homeschool; Glory Olowojoba, Chamblee Charter High School; Kyra Rogers, Chatham Hall;. Isaiah Scott, South Effingham High School; Sarah Sims, Chattahoochee County High School; Kayden Skeete, Atlanta International School;  Anvitha Suram, Cambridge High School; George Tian, Lambert High School; Alex Watts, Decatur High School; James Wilson, Newton High School; and Sabrina Zhu, Alpharetta High School..

The students will be honored at the virtual Georgia Youth Leadership Awards, presented by WarnerMedia, on March 25 at 6 p.m. Through corporate sponsors, each youth leader will be presented with a $500 grant, with one student awarded the WarnerMedia Student Leadership Award – the event’s top award which includes a $1,000 grant from the presenting sponsor, WarnerMedia. 

Students are also paired with GYLA Coaches who mentor the students throughout the event season. GYLA Coaches are members of Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 40 under 40 alumni, maintaining a partnership that was established with ABC 40 under 40 in 2008 when 21st Century Leaders first launched this event.

All nominations were reviewed by a 28-member GYLA Selection Committee comprised of Atlanta Business Chronicle’s 40 under 40 members, 21CL Board of Directors, 21CL corporate volunteers, and 21CL alumni and student peers. Committee members included TJ Abrams, EXOS; Doug Aldridge, Aldridge Private Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors; Monique Bell, Bobby Dodd Institute; Chadwick Boyd, Lovely & Delicious; AJ Brooks, Wellstar Health System; Mike Burgett, CIO Partners, Inc.; Greg Clay, GETEMPOWRD and 21CL Alumnus; David Felfoldi, SHERPA Global; Jelena Fordella, Slalom; Quinn Green, Century 21 Connect Realty; April Jackson, Truist; Shaneeta Johnson, Morehouse School of Medicine; Debra Lam, GA Tech’s Institute for People and Technology; Jesse Lindsley, Thrust Interactive; Jesse Marinko, Phoenix Senior Living; Jacqueline O’Banion, Emory Eye Center; Dr. Adriane Randolph, BrainLab, Department of Information Systems, Kennesaw State University; Kashi Sehgal, Gigabark; Stephen Smith, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; Josh Sommer, Cox Communications; Pamela Stewart, The Coca-Cola Company; Arjun Chowdri, PGA of America, 21CL Board of Directors; Marty Fleischmann, Response Media, 21CL Board of Directors; Okema Jackson, WarnerMedia, 21CL Board of Directors; Sara Dada, 21CL Alumna and Junior Board of Directors; Cristy Jones, 21CL Alumna and Junior Board of Directors; Conner Kanaly and Madison Kenney, 21CL Youth Ambassadors, 2020 GYLA Student Recipients. 

About 21st Century Leaders 

Since 1989, 21st Century Leaders has served more than 15,000 diverse high school students from over 250 Georgia high schools. 21st Century Leaders’ mission is to connect, transform, and inspire high school students from diverse backgrounds across the state of Georgia to leverage diversity, explore career opportunities, and become leaders in their school, community, and ultimately the workforce.