By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Survival of the fitness
1221 sems fitness
Seventeen students ranked in the 85th percentile or higher on all five test areas for the Presidential Physical Fitness test. - photo by Photo provided

Students at South Effingham Middle School that are currently enrolled in Physical Education classes took part in the Presidential Physical Fitness Challenge. This fitness test measures the student’s endurance, strength, flexibility and agility. Students were tested in five different categories: a mile run, a shuttle run, sit-ups, push-ups and the sit and reach. Seventeen students ranked in the 85th percentile or higher on all five test areas.
The following students were awarded with the Presidential Physical Fitness Award: sixth grade — Chloe Horne, Jaci Roger, Logan Edenfield and TJ Williams; seventh grade — Carly Craven, Dylan Fontaine, Erika Griffin Evyn Insalaco, Grace Anna Crosby, Olivia Farrar, Samantha Rodriguez and Tyler Pullum; and eighth grade — Cheyenne Pierson, Brooke Strickland, Naomi Sapp, Alexis Studier and Brooke Brabham.
The following students ranked in the 50th percentile or better in all five categories and were recognized as National Physical Fitness Test winners: Adrian Chacon, Alex Lively, Breanna Reimer, Caleb Fedie, Chloe Phillips, Cody Summitt, Colton Ashley, Daniel Newsome, Haley Johnson, Joey Lee, Katie Nelson, Kyla Moore, Madison Thornton, Nolan Dasher, Rachael Jones, Timothy Signal, AJ Wiley, Allison Jodrey, Alyssa Livingston. Ashley Schwartz, Ben Elmore, Chandler Blankenship, Chandler Cubbedge, Christian Mincey, Collin Rish, Dylan Carter, Dylan Lariscy, Eddie Shearouse, Elijah Burns, Elvin Brown, Jacob Anderson, Jarod Cox, Jessica Curtis, Jordan Boomgaarden, Josh Edenfield, Marquis Kennedy, Mason McCullough, Matthew Ralph, Megan Small, Mikayla Tillman, Miranda Arrington, Nick Reno, Rachel Larson, Shane Dodd, Turner Davis, Zach Gronefield, Zana Kirkland, Anna Hare, Auston White, Brandon Kidwell, Dionna Hartfield, Corey Horne, Emily Bendig, Harold Wheeler, Ian Barton, Jake Elliott, Joshua Crosby, Kendal Isber, Loren Moss, Makayla Brant, Marcus Murdock, Megan Miller, Michael Duncan, Nathan Robinson, Nick Hargrave, Richard Donovan, Russell Smith, Ryan Schoonover, Slade Johnson, Tara Fedie, Taylor Donovan, Willie Webb and Logan Revell.