By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Honorable Beth Rahn Mosley swears in Effingham Officials
sworn in

Seven Effingham County Officials were sworn in Thursday night in the historic courtroom of the Effingham County Courthouse by the Honorable Beth Rahn Mosley.

Reggie Loper, Forest Floyd, Wesley Corbitt, David Exley, Scott Lewis, Sheriff Jimmy McDuffie and Linda McDaniel all swore an oath of office at the ceremony before family, friends and citizens.

The service began with opening remarks by Judge Mosley and followed with the invocation and pledge by Jose Velasquez.

Judge Mosley then introduced the officiates being sworn in and had each one approach the front of the courtroom, raise their right hand and repeat the oath after her.

Reggie Loper and Forest Floyd were sworn in as members of the Effingham County Board of Commissioners.

Wesley Corbitt was sworn in to serve as the Effingham County Commission Chairman. He was elected in the Republican Primary back in May.

David Exley was sworn in to serve as the Effingham County Coroner, a position he has held for nine years. Recently, Exley was named as the “Coroner of the Year” by the Georgia Coroners Association.

Major Scott Lewis was sworn in to serve as chief magistrate in Effingham County. Lewis has previously worked for the Effingham County Sheriff’s Department as Deputy Operations Manager.

Sheriff Jimmy McDuffie was sworn in to serve as Sheriff of Effingham County after being reelected in May. McDuffie has held the position since 2002 when he was appointed.

Linda McDaniel was sworn in to serve as the Tax Commissioner for Effingham County.

Closing remarks were given by Judge Mosley and all who attended were served refreshments in a reception for the 2017 elected officials by the Probate Court.