By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Scarbrough named a Community STAR
0406 STC community stars
Guytons Lisa Scarbrough was named a Community STAR by the Savannah Technical College Foundation Community Council.

SAVANNAH—A crowd of 300 gathered in the Eckburg Auditorium on the campus of Savannah Technical College on Friday to celebrate the 2016 Tribute to Community STARS luncheon, the 10th annual event recognizing people for their service and dedication in the community or at work.

Honored were:

• Eunice Bell, United Way of the Coastal Empire (UWCE) volunteer, sponsored by UWCE

• Lawrence Brody, financial advisor, sponsored by Wells Fargo Advisors

•  Jenn Case, 2016 STC GOAL Student of the Year, sponsored by Savannah Technical College

• Jody Chapin, anchor, sponsored by WTOC-TV

• Mary Chatman, chief operating officer and chief nursing officer, sponsored by Memorial Health 

• Jennifer Davis, 2016 STC EAGLE student of the year, sponsored by Savannah Technical College

• Steve Eagle, managing director, Seacrest Partners, sponsored by Savannah Morning News

• Jarvis Evans, payroll technician II, sponsored by Liberty Regional Medical Center

• Curtis Foltz, executive director, Georgia Ports Authority, sponsored by Georgia Power

• Kay Ford, chairman, Savannah Advisory Board, sponsored by BankSouth

• Debra Geiger, 2016 STC Rick Perkins Instructor of the Year Award, sponsored by Savannah Technical College

• Grace Herrington, lead teacher, H.V. Jenkins High School Engineering Program, sponsored by DIRTT

• Tommy Hester, Savannah Market president, honored posthumously by Colony Bank

• Sarah Lamar, partner, sponsored by HunterMaclean

• Hope Moorer, general manager, Navigation Programs, sponsored by Georgia Ports Authority

• Ben Payne, school director, Savannah Classical Academy, sponsored by Hansen Architects, Dulany Industries, Inc. and The Pinyan Company

• Jesse Petrea, director and VP of development, Coastal Home Care and Member, Georgia House of Representatives, sponsored by Coastal Home Care and Communities of Coastal Georgia Foundation

• Maranda Porter, founder, Friends of Coastal Georgia, sponsored by Advertising Specialty Services

• Margaret Mary Russell, office manager and Leadership Savannah director, sponsored by Savannah Area Chamber of Commerce

• Lisa Scarbrough, founder, Coastal Pet Rescue, sponsored by Weimar Construction Company

• Al Scott, chairman, Chatham County Commission, sponsored by National Office Systems

• Peter Shannon, artistic director and conductor, Savannah Philharmonic, sponsored by Judy and Dick Eckburg

• Joe Shearouse, Leisure Services Bureau chief, City of Savannah, sponsored by Savannah Economic Development Authority

• Mickey Stephens, retired educator and member, Georgia House of Representatives, sponsored by Kinder Morgan

• James Thomas, former mayor, City of Hinesville, sponsored by Liberty County Development Authority

• Peter Ulrich, principal at The STEM Academy at Bartlett, sponsored by Mary and Howard Morrison

• Jim Williams, consultant, sponsored by Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Americas

• Tommy Williams Sr., mayor pro-tem, City of Riceboro, sponsored by SNF Holding Company.

 Delete-Merge UpThe keynote speaker was given by Diana Rivenburgh, author of “The New Corporate Facts of Life: Rethink Your Business to Transform Today’s Challenges Into Tomorrow’s Profits.”