By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
McDonald named Effingham County Teacher of the Year
Melissa McDonald
Melissa McDonald receives the Effingham County Teacher of the Year Award from Effingham County Board of Education Chairman Lamar Allen on Wednesday. - photo by Mark Lastinger/staff

RINCON -- Effingham College & Career Academy's Melissa McDonald received the top honor during the Effingham Board of Education's 2021-22 Teacher of the Year Banquet at  New Ebenezer Retreat Center on Wednesday.

McDonald was named the Effingham County District's Teacher of the Year. She was chosen from a field that included Danielle Viste (Blandford Elementary School), Valerie Mobley (Ebenezer Elementary School), Emily Schleiger (Guyton Elementary School), Brooke Burns (Marlow Elementary School), Amanda Hallman (Rincon Elementary School), Nicole Drayer (Sand Hill Elementary School), Billie Ann Gordon (South Effingham Elementary School), Shannon Burnsed (Springfield Elementary School), Wendy Crosby (Ebenezer Middle School), Shelly Graham (Effingham County Middle School), Laura Cook (South Effingham Middle School), Greta Coleman (Effingham County High School), Danielle Brandenburgh (South Effingham High School), Jessica Jarman (Crossroads Academy) and Amanda Johnson (enCompass Academy).

See the Nov. 10 edition of the Herald for more banquet details.